The Mystery Statue

“Where the fern meets the sea…” my mum explained.
“Wasn’t grandpa in the war?” I asked.
“Yes, now let me finish sweetheart,” my mum answered. “He fought in the dreadful war that made him weak…” 
That memory had faded. I thought it was all lost after five years of searching. This was the last spot it could be.

I might find my grandpa’s statue

The birds chirped as I ran through the ferns. The statue was there. I bowed as I looked at the name with pride.
It said Captain Fa Shang and my heart sank.

That’s not my pa’s name.

One thought on “The Mystery Statue

  1. Hi Laura
    I really enjoyed reading your 100 word challenge this week. Your opening line immediately set the scene for an intriguing piece which had me gripped until the very end. I like how you used the prompt of the picture to weave a story about your grandpa’s statue. I also really liked the link from the ‘ferns’ in your opening line to the ‘ferns’ which you ran through at the end of your story. And then you left it all on such an amazing cliffhanger. I’m left wondering who was Captain Fa Shang and why was his name on the statue. Excellent writing for the 100 word challenge!! Well done.
    Máire O’Keeffe (Team 100)
    Galway, Ireland

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *